NAEA Research Commission Roster

Meet the Commissioners

The Research Commission is led by the Chair, Associate Chair, and Past Chair. Of the 11 additional Commissioners, 7 represent each of the NAEA membership Divisions (Elementary, Middle Level, Secondary, Higher Education, Supervision/Administration, Museum Education, Preservice), 3 are At-Large Commissioners, and 1 Ex-Officio Commissioner represents the National Art Education Foundation. Each Commissioner serves for an initial two-year term and may serve for a second two-year term.

Calls for open positions on the Research Commission are distributed to all NAEA members. Nominees should be passionate advocates for the research needs of NAEA members, and divisional nominees should represent the interests and needs of members within the division to be served (they should either be a member of the division of interest or have significant research experience in the division’s focus). The qualifications and duties of all Research Commissioners are as follows:

  • Have research experience as demonstrated through publications, service on research bodies, and participation in research initiatives;
  • Have demonstrated successful organization, administrative, and leadership capacities;
  • Have demonstrated successful leadership within NAEA or at a comparable organization or institution at the state and national levels; and
  • Act as a public representative of the research community within the art education field.
  • Amy Pfeiler-Wunder

    Chair (2022-2024)

    Professor; Department of Art Education, Kutztown University; ​Interim Associate Dean College of Visual and Performing Arts | Kutztown University

  • Aaron Knochel

    Associate Chair (2022-2024)

    Associate Professor of Art Education, Penn State University

  • Sara Wilson McKay

    Past Chair (2022-2024)

    Associate Professor, Department of Art Education, Virginia Commonwealth University

  • Tina M. Atkinson

    Commissioner - Elementary (2021-2023)

    Art Educator, Percy Priest Elementary School, MNPS, Nashville, TN

  • Jennifer Bockerman

    Commissioner - Middle Level (2021–2023)

    PhD Student, Virginia Commonwealth University

  • Phaedra Michelle Byrd

    Commissioner - Secondary (2022-2024)

    Art Department Chairperson, Potomac High School; Adjunct Professor of Photography, Bowie State University

  • Justin Sutters

    Commissioner - Preservice (2022-2024)

    Director - Master Of Arts In Teaching (MAT) Program; Associate Professor Of Art Education; Affiliate Faculty For The College Of Education And Human Development; Director Of Graduate Studies For School Of Art And Design, George Mason University

  • Robin Vande Zande

    Commissioner - Higher Education (2023-2024)

    Professor and Coordinator of Art Education, Kent State University

  • Gino Molfino

    Commissioner - Supervision/Administration (2023-2025)

    Coordinator, Fine Arts, Howard County Public School System

  • Rina Kundu Little

    Commissioner - Museum (2023-2025)

    Associate Professor, School of Art, Texas Tech University

  • James Rees

    At-Large Commissioner (2022-2024)


  • Marissa Mcclure Sweeny

    At-Large Commissioner (2022-2024)

    Associate Professor Of Art Education, Art Education Program Coordinator, Women’s And Gender Studies Affiliate Faculty, Indiana University Of Pennsylvania

  • Christina Bain

    At-Large Commissioner (2022-2024)

    Associate Chair Department of Art And Art History; Associate Professor of Art Education; Undergraduate Coordinator Visual Art Studies/Uteach; Art Education Graduate Advisor, The University Of Texas at Austin

  • Kathryn Hillyer

    Ex-Officio, Representing the National Art Education Foundation (NAEF) (2023-2025)

    Art Educator Emerita, Instructional Assistant Professor, Illinois State University

Explore More